Thursday, March 13, 2014

Review: Uninvited by Sophie Jordan


When Davy Hamilton's tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn't feel any different, but genes don't lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he's not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan's trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann.

I'd read a few mixed reviews about this book so I wasn't sure what to expect, but I was pleasantly surprised. Basically, this company has found way to check for what is called, the Killer Gene. If someone possesses this gene they are considered more likely to kill or harm others. Davy is a music prodigy from one of the best families and she attends one of the best schools. When she finds out that she has the Killer Gene she's sure that it's a mistake. Davy is forced to go to another school where she spends the day locked in a room with other carriers. As the book progresses we watch as Davy realizes that no two people are alike, just because someone was born with this gene, it doesn't mean they'll maliciously hurt anyone.

Although there were many moments when I wanted to shake some sense into Davy, I had to admire her, she went though some major character development within the pages of this book and I look forward to seeing how things work out for her in book two. 

3.75 stars 


  1. I'm very interested in this book and I've been thinking about picking it up for a while now. I can't wait to read it!

    1. Yeah it was pretty good. Full disclosure, there's going to be a sequel, I didn't realize that when I picked up the book. I'll definitely be picking up the second book, there are things I need to know.