Tuesday, June 7, 2016

Review: Insignia by S.J. Kincaid

Publisher: Harper Collins
Publication Date: July 10, 2012
Rating: 4 stars

The earth is in the middle of WWIII in Insignia, the first entry in S. J. Kincaid's fast-paced sci-fi adventure trilogy perfect for fans of Ender's Game.

The planet's natural resources are almost gone, and war is being fought to control the assets of the solar system. The enemy is winning. The salvation may be Tom Raines. Tom doesn't seem like a hero. He's a short fourteen-year-old with bad skin. But he has the virtual-reality gaming skills that make him a phenom behind the controls of the battle drones.

As a new member of the Intrasolar Forces, Tom's life completely changes. Suddenly, he's someone important. He has new opportunities, friends, and a shot at having a girlfriend. But there's a price to pay. . . . (Goodreads)

I came to this series waaaaaaay late in the game but I really liked it. I was in desperate need of an audio book and I was also on the hunt for more books that I can recommend to my younger male patrons at the library so I decided to give it a listen. Not only is Tom and great and well defined main character, his friends are equally as well developed. His friends are all very different characters, but they fit perfectly with each other. It's the group of friends I always wished I could find and put together. While training to be combatants during WWIII Tom and his friends get into a bunch of mischief, but there are bigger problems to be dealt with as well. One of the instructors has it in for Tom, Tom also being to involve himself with the enemy, as well as commits other acts of treason.

Now, full confession, I audio booked this and I know that having an awesome audio book reader can make something that's not really great, seem great (such as the Stephanie Plum books, I'd never read them, but I'll listen to them for the rest of my life) but if nothing else, this book is easily suggestable to reluctant reader male children, and that's exactly what I was looking for.

But really guys, this is a great book. Action packed, and quick moving. Read it!!


Post a Comment